Moomba & Hopscotch

12/03/17

After being up for hours this morning, I was restless and ready to do something fun. So I dragged my sleepy boyfriend out of bed (and by that I mean I tried to pull him out of bed but I have zero muscles so I really just annoyed him until he finally gave in). With a quick search on my phone for what was on in Melbourne today, and a very surprised look from Rhys, I discovered a festival I had never heard of before – Moomba. This is probably not new information to anyone else living in Melbourne but I have apparently been living under a rock and have not experienced the many joys Melbourne has to offer. As it was going to be a ‘hot but not too hot’ 31 degree day we thought it would be a good opportunity to wander around the festival and soak up some atmosphere.

One of my favourite things about Melbourne since moving here has been discovering the beautiful gardens and parks – especially the ones by the water. The festival is in a great spot of the city, and although we didn’t go on any rides it was nice to walk alongside the river, take in the sights, eat a delicious lemon crepe, and laugh at the ridiculous fools that dressed up as birds and attempted to “fly” (fall with style) into the river.

IMG_9659IMG_9648

Soon we (mostly Rhys) grew hungry  for lunch and decided that it would be nice to sit by the river somewhere and headed to Southbank. We ended up at a place called Hopscotch that neither of us had been to before. It was a bit of a trendy beer garden with it’s fake lawn floor and copper pipe lighting. A pleasant and refreshing surprise was the fine spray of water that showered the tables to cool you down. I had a lamb souvlaki and Rhys had a beef burger, both of which were very big but very delicious. And, if there’s anyone out there like me that loves a good lemon, lime and bitters – a solid 10/10! I am a little unsure about their judgement on serving beer and bacon ice cream but I think I can forgive that small act of insanity and will definitely be back in the future.

IMG_9660IMG_9656

It was then home time and it probably took a whole of 45 seconds for me to settle into an enjoyable afternoon nanna nap – the sign of a day well spent!

🙂

Leave a Reply

